You are currently using an outdated browser. For the best viewing experience, please upgrade your browser here.
Deer hunting restrictions lifted in NSW

Deer hunting restrictions lifted in NSW

Deer-hunting restrictions have been suspended across nine Local Government Areas (LGAs) of NSW today, to give landholders more options for managing deer impacts.

The removal of restrictions in these areas is in response to increased reports of deer impacts and new maps that show increased distribution and abundance of wild deer across the State.

Private or other lands in these LGAs Рexcluding Sate Forests Р are no longer subject to hunting restrictions, such as:

  • The requirement to hunt certain species during a defined season.
  • Use of spotlights or electronic devices.
  • Hunting of game fleeing fire or smoke.
  • Use of aircraft, watercraft or motor vehicles.
  • Use of baits, lures or decoys.
  • Hunting at night.

The following LGAs have lifted the restrictions: Bega Valley, Glen Innes Severn, Liverpool Plains, Port Macquarie Hastings, Snowy Monaro, Snowy Valleys, Tenterfield, Upper Hunter and Wollongong.

Prior to hunting in NSW, SSAA members should be aware:

  • Hunters are still required to hold a NSW R-licence to hunt deer in the nominated LGAs.
  • You must have permission from the landholder or manager before hunting.
  • The suspensions do not apply to declared and open State Forests within the LGAs.
  • Hunters can add their contact information and hunt availability to the Ecological Deer Management register, available to landholders seeking to engage licensed hunters.

Prior to obtaining an R-licence through NSW DPI, hunters must take a test. SSAA Victoria offers R-licence testing at the Box Hill Stat Office. The test costs $15 for SSAA members and $20 for non-members.

The suspension of restrictions will expire on Monday, June 1, 2020.

For more information about the deer-hunting restrictions click here.